Older … Colder

Driving to work this morning, I passed a high school bus stop. There was one kid standing waiting for the bus … wearing a short sleeve shirt and jeans. I live near Chicago. It was -7 this morning.

It must be a youth thing. I remember, vaguely, when I was a kid, we could stay outside in the winter for hours. We would come home with wet gloves, hats and coats, mom would get us some hot chocolate and all was right with the world. Youngsters think nothing of walking around ill equipped for the weather. Me … ?

I warm my car up in the morning. I wear a hat, gloves and a really warm coat. I have been tempted to wear snow pants to work. I yell at the kids to not play in the snow on the way into daycare … not because I don’t want them to play, but because I want to get inside quicker.

It has to be a product of advancing age. Seniors are always colder. They move to Florida and Arizona.

Do I have a point? Not really. I just couldn’t believe that kid had NO COAT!!!

Leave a Reply

