Don’t Read If You Are Allergic

WARNING: This post may contain words typed by someone who has eaten, touched, been near or thought about peanuts or products containing peanuts.

Not to be confused with THIS Peanut

I do not have a peanut allergy. I do not know anyone that has a peanut allergy. I understand they can be brutal and quite deadly. I am not making fun of anyone with a peanut allergy, HOWEVER … I think it is a little over the top that people are protesting against Cheerios because they are now making a peanut butter flavored Cheerios. Like I said, I understand the allergies can be deadly and I understand it isn’t something that people brought upon themselves … BUT FOR THE LOVE OF GOD PEOPLE QUIT BLAMING EVERYONE ELSE FOR EVERYTHING! If something has peanuts then don’t buy it. There are bubble children out there and their parents aren’t saying “stop making everything on the planet because my child is allergic to everything.”

There are plenty of obscure allergies out there: sunlight, cold water, hot water … you name it, there is an allergy for it somewhere at some time. It seems though that the peanut allergy people are the most vocal and the most bitchy about it. When I went to school, I could bring a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. When Tori starts going to school I fully expect her to be able to bring PB&J for lunch. What I don’t understand is why, in a classroom of 30 students or whatever, if there is 1 child with a peanut allergy, everyone else has to suffer. Again, when did it become everyone elses responsibility to make sure that someone else doesn’t get exposed to whatever. Why can’t that child leave the room for lunch or let the other kids leave the room for lunch instead of banning foods. If  am allergic to bees I make sure I don’t get stung, I don’t sue the government for trying to fix colony collapse.

I know I am sounding cold and callous but I am tired of people having to listen to these groups complain about everything and think that they are so special that everyone else has to do everything their way. If you thought I was mean before, you will really hate this next comment … maybe peanuts are another of nature’s way to take care of things. Like I talked about in a previous post … people need to stop trying to stop natural selection.

With the recent bankruptcy filing of Hostess, I bought some Twinkies out of nostalgia. I was going to just keep them, but I got hungry while I was writing this and ate them. I forgot how awful they taste. They are really gross and they don’t even have peanuts in them. I think I have to go wash my mouth out now. I should have gotten a fruit pie or Ding Dong instead. Blech!

4 Responses to “Don’t Read If You Are Allergic”

  1. I hadn’t heard of them protesting Peanut Butter Cheerios. That’s ridiculous! WTF, people.

  2. Wow, that really is extreme! BTW, now I have Ding Dong craving. Yet another sentence I never thought I would type.

  3. […] Don’t Read If You Are Allergic (bobrich.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Cedric Slackman Says:

    With a peanut or tree nut allergy, even a tiny amount may cause an allergic reaction in some people. Some places you find nuts, like nut butters and nut breads, are not surprising. Others — like sauces and gravies — may be.”

    Consider our personal blog as well
    <.http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/canker-sore-treatment/

Leave a Reply

