Willkommen Zu Meinen Blog

My German is a bot rusty but I think I was close. Why German? It is September so that means Oktoberfest season. I don’t get it either. I am a little tired of bars having a weekend of Oktober fest in the middle of September. I was curious to this phenomenon so the German in me, yes, there is German blood in my veins, decided to look it up. Here are a few facts whether you wanted them or not: (I got these from Wikipedia so god only know if they are accurate)

Oktoberfest …

–       Is a 16–18 day festival held annually in Munich, Bavaria, Germany, running from late September to the first weekend in October.

–       It has been held since 1810

–       More than 5 million people attending every year.

–       The Munich Oktoberfest originally took place during the sixteen days up to and including the first Sunday in October.

–       Only beer which is brewed within the city limits of Munich is allowed to be served in this festival.

–       Oktoberfest Beer is a registered Trademark by the Club of Munich Brewers.

–       Nearly 1,000 tons of garbage result annually from the Oktoberfest.

–       In 2004 the queues outside the toilets became so long that the police had to regulate the entrance.

So … yeah American bars … take that.

Leave a Reply

