A-6 … YOU SANK MY …

…faith in the future of movie making. Ladies and gentleman, boys and girls, welcome to a heavy hearted edition of Techtainment Tuesday. No, don’t worry, nothing seriously has happened. Family and friends are all well. My heart is heavy because of the constant decline of the movie industry. I have made my feelings clear before. I will continue to tirelessly beat the issue. There is just no originality left in Hollywood. At least not enough to justify me paying $10 and above to see a movie.

What has gotten me today you ask? I was reading the newspaper and other various sources of online news this morning, and saw the headline “Music Star To Act in First Movie”. I was curious so I clicked on the link. Not only was I bummed out to see that it was Rihanna they were talking about (not a fan), I was also depressed to see the movie she is going to be in. Battleship.

Once again Hollywood has given up creativity and looked to a game that has been around since the early 1900s (yes, really it has. See here.). I remember playing Battleship. It actually was one of my favorite games. I was able to cheat quite effectively until that insipid electronic version came out. I was the CHAMP! Very rarely lost unless someone was better at cheating that I was. But I digress. They are making a movie of Battleship?!?!

I am sure that this news has been out for a while, and I am not quite sure how I missed it. Or maybe I just don’t remember complaining about it before. Regardless, I sat at my desk for a while trying to figure out how the heck Battleship could be a movie? It would be like, oh, I don’t know, making a Broadway musical about chess. I read on to see what the premise of the movie will be. Apparently, Rihanna and a True Blood vampire are going to be battling an unknown force from space or some silliness. REALLY?!?!?!

I know, there are a FEW original ideas n Hollywood. VERY FEW. I know that I have complained about this before, and I will continue to complain because, well, I can. I am more worried about my children growing up. (yeah, I am actually going there) Honestly, when I was a kid, I remember playing with my Star Wars action figures, and having wars with them, my DinoBots and my Micronauts (how many of you even remember those). It was driven by imagination. I made up my own story lines and had fun. I know, I know, Transformers and Star Wars were both movies/cartoons also but, they were original then. I will go another route, I remember playing Hungry Hungry Hippos, Sorry, Stay Alive and BATTLESHIP! Are we going to have movies of Kerplunk, Mr. Mouth and Don’t Break The Ice? Before you know it there will be movies from great games like Clue and Monopo … oh wait … never mind.

Of course they have been making video games into movies for years. I am not going to harp on that one because there is just no end to that one. Before you know it they will even make a movie about Pong.

Once again I am sure that I have diverted away from my original topic and have put forth a pointless, rambling work of craziness. This is good for me as it is kind of like therapy.

Don’t forget to tune in tomorrow when I will be espousing on the importance of Monkeys in the development of modern music.

Until next time remember … “monkey’s brains, though popular in Cantonese cuisine, are not often to be found in Washington D.C.”

3 Responses to “A-6 … YOU SANK MY …”

  1. Oh my god I played Battleship to death when I was a kid. Loved that game.

    • As did I. I just CAN NOT imagine how they are goign to make this into a movie. I really do not want to hear the actors yelling “they sank our battleship!” every 5 minutes.

  2. As long as they don’t make a movie out of Ants in My Pants!!!

Leave a Reply

