Look … Up In The Sky …

Has absolutely nothing to do with my blog actually but it grabs your attention don’t it? It could be up in the sky now that I think about it or it may not be in the sky actually. It may be in your neighbors yard. Or maybe in their garage. What in the world am I talking about? I’ll get there, I promise.

I have not gone to see the new Iron Man movie yet but I want to. I have heard mixed reviews so I am a little worried if I should spend the money or wait until it comes out on DVD and Blue-ray next month. I liked the first movie and I really liked the old cartoon as a kid. I remember the voice being done by  John Vernon (better known to most people as Dean Wormer from Animal House). I will admit I never got into the comic books but still thought the whole concept of Iron Man was pretty cool.

I can’t remember if any of my friends and I dressed up as Iron Man or not. I know we did odd things, some destructive, some not. I vaguely remember acting like super heroes. At least I do, maybe it was by myself … I was a strange child after all. Sometimes I still like to pretend I am a super hero sort of like in Mystery Men … but that is a blog for another day. What I am leading to is something I think looks like it could potentially be a lot of fun. I am not sure if I am going to have time or energy to do it since I am doing the major spring cleaning thing before my Mexican Fiesta party. I do know that some of you that read this may just have the creativity to run with this and win big. I bet you are still wondering what I am talking about. Well, it turns out that Kmart is running a pretty cool contest. You design and build your own Iron Man costume. You send in your pic of you dressed up in it and then you can win a trip to the Captain America Set in London. I am not sure that an “Iron Man the later years” would win so I think I will keep my costume making skills in check for this one. Check it out though. If anyone that reads this enters the contest and sends me their photo as well, I will send you some kind of prize. It may be Iron Man related, it may not. It could be a gift card for pizza, it could be a box of toilet seats covers. You never know what I might dig out of the prize closet. Either way, enter, have fun!

I have to mention the passing of Lena Horne. I had no clue that she was 92 years old. I can’t remember the last time I had seen her on TV but I didn’t think she was close to being that old. Maybe I am just remembering her from when I was younger and that means I am getting older. How depressing. Maybe I should get up in that Iron Man costume and feel young again!

Anyway, until next time, check out that Iron Man contest and remember … “Let’s face it, this is not the worst thing you’ve caught me doing.”

Neither this blog or me as it’s writer was compensated in any way for pushing the Iron Man photo contest…I just think it’s cool.

2 Responses to “Look … Up In The Sky …”

  1. Sybil Law Says:

    You really need to enter the contest!!
    I didn’t know about Lena Horne – sad!

  2. spyceechicn Says:

    Went and saw the $5 matinee Sunday- enjoyed the movie… fun and not as hoaky (sp) as many other (hear me Transformers) sequels. 🙂

Leave a Reply

