Bulldog 1 – Bob 0: Resolution update

Happy Monday everyone! With Jackie out of town this weekend, I thought I would start down the long road to success for one of my resolutions, reclaiming my side of the bed back from the dog. For those of you not familiar with my dog, she is a 3 year old, 113 lb American Bulldog. If you haven’t seen one before, this is what they look like. (yes, same dog as at the top of my blog)

I am sure most of you are familiar with English Bulldogs and have heard the stories of stubbornness among Bulldogs. Well, 113 pounds of muscle and stubborn are sometimes a little difficult to deal with. I figured I would use this weekend to lay down the law and say “hey, this is MY side of the bed!” thinking with Jackie gone she would move and get the hint. I was wrong.

I used to think that Piper kicked me out of bed because she wanted more room, since a queen size bed is apparently not large enough for 2 adults and our dog. I was wrong about that too. It seems she just likes having the bed to herself being the princess that she is. 4 in the morning Sunday, I actually fell out of bed after being pushed to the side. I got up, and scolded Piper. Did she move? No. She looked at me with sad eyes, wagging her tail with a look of “what? What did I do?” I finally got her to move over and then she laid her chin on my shins and went back to sleep. Don’t get me wrong, I love our dog. Jackie tells me I have been spoiled with this being my first dog. She is a little spoiled though. If she even thinks she is going to slip on the floor, she won’t come in from outside until we move her food dish to the side so she can get right to the floor matt.

For those of you with smaller dogs, or no dogs at all, I am not sure if you can truly understand a dog physically kicking you out of bed. You want to yell at them but then they look at you. Oh well. I have a few more days to try again before Jackie comes home.

As far as updates on my other resolutions. So far so good. Once I have something exciting on those fronts I shall post.

Not that exciting of a post today but I am rather sleepy. Maybe something will rile me today and I will havesomething more interesting to post tonight. One can only hope.

Until next time … hmmm…nothing clever comes to mind today.

One Response to “Bulldog 1 – Bob 0: Resolution update”

  1. I know cats don’t weigh 113lbs (at least none of the one I own do), but, when three of them gang up and want a larger portion of the bed, I run inot the same problem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

